KS Review

Do you need a review for your Kickstarter? Absolutely, you do! This video gives a basic idea of what you’ll need to know to prep for reviews and get them.

Kickstarter Basics: Getting a Review

Points in this video:

14 Readers Commented

Join discussion
  1. Gabe Barrett on April 22, 2016

    I really appreciate you taking the time to do this series. Practical advice from a guy that’s done it is a great resource.

  2. Behrooz 'Bezman' Shahriari on April 24, 2016

    Great video, Edo. Is there a drawback to contacting you more than 6 weeks before, or is it a case of the earlier the better?

    I need to get better at following up. The way you suggest it makes a lot of sense but I always get some anxiety when writing to folk as I don’t want to be a bother.

    I guess part of it is also having one’s own shit in order in terms of being prepared for the KS so many weeks before it launches so you are 100% certain there’ll be no reason to delay.

    • Eduardo Baraf Author on April 24, 2016

      I don’t mind earlier contact. I just might not be able to commit.

  3. Timothy Junker on April 26, 2016

    Can’t say enough about this video. As a first time game designer, this video is has given great advice. I have been reaching out to some game designers and have been pleasantly surprised at how helpful they are and willing to give advice. Remember the name Federations, as I will be contacting you for sure in the future;)

  4. Ed! This video made me chuckle a good number of times (6:30-6:40 especially) between making note of some of the “golden nuggets” you’ve provided. I appreciate your candor and how incredibly straight forward you are.

    Having a review copy sent to me first to inspect (because yes, The Game Crafter sometimes sends out some wacky looking stuff) is a great suggestion, and totally worth the extra shipping costs. If it is a big game that costs a lot to ship, it is probably MORE important to inspect before sending off for review, as there is more that could have gone wrong!

    When contacting reviewers for Honey Wars, something I ran across was several reviewers “not accepting new submissions at this time.” Or, they are accepting, but they have a 14-16 week queue. AS you said, there is a tremendous amount of effort to produce reviews, so I am understanding in that regard. But if I see that kind of timing, do you think it is mostly a product of them just not being able to dedicate much time to reviews in general, or that they actually have that kind of demand for their services?

    Bad reviews: We pretty much never see bad reviews of games on Kickstarter pages. At worst, we might see mostly positive with some “things i didn’t prefer, but can overlook.” I HOPE that this is a result of designers taking the time to address things, but how can we be sure?

    Do you think that paid reviews compound this slant (as in, I paid money for this review, the reviewer didn’t like the game, so don’t just take my money and publish a video about it not being a game they liked)?

    • Eduardo Baraf Author on April 30, 2016

      Awesome note!! Would have responded earlier, but busy with International Tabletop Day.

      On your last comments. KS creators determine which videos appear on their KS page. Why on earth would a Creator put up a bad review – even if it was what they paid for?

      If you think a KS is questionable, sometimes you can search and find other reviews which DON’T appear on the KS. That’s where you’ll get those kind of details.
      ~Ed

  5. Colum Higgins on May 9, 2016

    Hi Eduardo

    I really appreciate this information share. I have a couple of follow-up questions.

    1. Can you give me an idea of how rough you think the art can be in a review prototype for a Kick Starter project please? I am trying to see how much if any of the costs for box and card art I can delay until I have a funded campaign.

    2. You mentioned that you would be willing to forward on a review copy to another reviewer. How would I pay you for that in practice?

    Best regards

    Colum Higgins

    • Eduardo Baraf Author on May 9, 2016

      1. Really depends on the game. You should at least have some representative art. Some cards, materials, etc.

      2. Typically you would use Paypal.

  6. Maggie Stewart on July 23, 2016

    I’ve been watching all your Kickstarter Basics videos and really appreciate you sharing your knowledge with the community, I’m learning a lot!

    One question: If I’m trying to stagger the release of reviews throughout the campaign, would you say it’s ok to ask a reviewer to publish their review on a certain week or even day? (assuming I send the game at least 6-8 weeks in advance of course)

    • Eduardo Baraf Author on July 23, 2016

      Hi Maggie,

      Generally speaking, my experience has been that reviewers are happy to work with you on scheduling. Having said that, reviews that come up late in KS cycle tend to get less views. Most reviewers want before or on launch day. Mind you, just because a review comes out on a given day, doesn’t mean you can’t promote it later. Good KS creators know how to continue to get reviews and press into feeds long after it has been posted.

      Cheers,
      ~Ed

  7. Gabriel on July 12, 2017

    Hi Eduardo,

    As a new game designer/publisher, I find sites like yours and many others very helpful! I consume the tips and resources constantly in my quest to making my first game. I am now looking to send copies out for reviewers and decided to check your video again to make sure I have all my checklist boxes ticked…

    That said, I will definitely send you an email soon to share my new game with you. I hope you like what you see!

    Gabriel

Have something to say?