The Best Games Are Yet To Be Made Tue, 13 Aug 2019 23:51:04 +0000 en-US hourly 1 https://wordpress.org/?v=4.9.16 Virtually Attend an Industry Con – Tabletop Network 2018 /virtually-attend-an-industry-con-tabletop-network-2018/ /virtually-attend-an-industry-con-tabletop-network-2018/#comments Wed, 06 Jun 2018 13:00:16 +0000 https://www.leagueofgamemakers.com/?p=17808 For those of you who want to get more game design industry shop talk in, but can’t get away to panels here and there, this is your chance to attend a cool board game conference from your own home or office. That’s right – con virtually! VIRTUAL PASSES STILL AVAILABLE! As for the physical part of the show, the first annual Tabletop Network is a 2-day event in Snowbird, Utah...

Source

]]>
/virtually-attend-an-industry-con-tabletop-network-2018/feed/ 1
Happy New Year – League of Gamemakers 2018! /happy-new-year-league-of-gamemakers-2018/ /happy-new-year-league-of-gamemakers-2018/#comments Mon, 01 Jan 2018 02:49:35 +0000 https://www.leagueofgamemakers.com/?p=17776 Hi all, Thank you so much for reading/watching! We started the League of Gamemakers in 2014, and we’ve now celebrated 4 years of topics in design, development, publishing, gaming, mechanics, playtesting, prototyping, Kickstarter, reviews, interviews and much more! A LOOK AT 2017 As you know, 2017 was a different year for the League. After hundreds of posts, we departed from our regiment of 3...

Source

]]>
/happy-new-year-league-of-gamemakers-2018/feed/ 4
Q&A: Vincent Dutrait – One Canvas at a Time /qa-vincent-dutrait/ /qa-vincent-dutrait/#respond Wed, 27 Dec 2017 15:00:08 +0000 https://www.leagueofgamemakers.com/?p=17767 Vincent Dutrait is one of the industries premier board game artists. He joins me to talk about how he got into Board Games, the industry, and advice for illustrators making the leap to also do graphic design in games. Q&A: Vincent Dutrait

Source

]]>
/qa-vincent-dutrait/feed/ 0
Board Gaming 2017: Game & Industry Trends /board-gaming-2017/ /board-gaming-2017/#comments Fri, 22 Dec 2017 19:14:40 +0000 https://www.leagueofgamemakers.com/?p=17761 End of the year video with my perspective on gaming and industry trends. Board Gaming 2017

Source

]]>
/board-gaming-2017/feed/ 2
Q&A: Jordan Hawker: Board Gaming and Twitch /qa-jordan-hawker/ /qa-jordan-hawker/#respond Wed, 20 Dec 2017 15:00:01 +0000 https://www.leagueofgamemakers.com/?p=17756 Jordan Hawker is a Sr. Engineer at Twitch and one of the hosts of The Tilted Table streaming channel on the platform. We talk about Twitch, Board Gaming content, how to create content on Twitch, and even ways to promote it once it is up. https://www.twitch.tv/boardgames Q&A: Jordan Hawker

Source

]]>
/qa-jordan-hawker/feed/ 0
Q&A: Martyn Poole – Board Game Exposure /qa-martyn-poole/ /qa-martyn-poole/#comments Mon, 18 Dec 2017 15:00:04 +0000 https://www.leagueofgamemakers.com/?p=17751 Martyn Poole started Board Game Exposure to convince US publishers to send games overseas for review. In short order he has grown into a substantial service with expanding offerings. He’s even designed a upcoming game for 2018. We talk BGE, Games, and his new effort Board Game PR. Q&A: Martyn Poole

Source

]]>
/qa-martyn-poole/feed/ 1
Q&A: Helaina Cappel – See a Need, Fill a Need /qa-helaina-cappel/ /qa-helaina-cappel/#respond Mon, 11 Dec 2017 15:00:53 +0000 https://www.leagueofgamemakers.com/?p=17743 Helaina Cappel started Kids Table Board Gaming because she saw a clear need for kid AND family friendly games in the market. She started with her husband, Joshua Cappel, and created Food Fighters. 3 successful games later, she is now branching out the brand create Burnt Island Games. BIG’s first game is Endeavor, a relaunch / rework of an older zman title. Needless to say, she has learned a...

Source

]]>
/qa-helaina-cappel/feed/ 0
Q&A: Joshua Cappel – Even Art Vets can be Indie /qa-joshua-cappel/ /qa-joshua-cappel/#respond Mon, 04 Dec 2017 15:00:06 +0000 https://www.leagueofgamemakers.com/?p=17732 Joshua Cappel has been creating art for board games for over a decade. We talk about how he got into the industry, tips and tricks for working with game designers, and the process he is going through to reboot Endeavor with Burnt Island Games. Q&A: Joshua Cappel

Source

]]>
/qa-joshua-cappel/feed/ 0
Q&A: Bryan Merlonghi – Life as a Marketing Manager /qa-bryan-merlonghi/ /qa-bryan-merlonghi/#respond Wed, 29 Nov 2017 15:00:53 +0000 https://www.leagueofgamemakers.com/?p=17702 Bryan Merlonghi designed Cutthroat Kingdoms and then used is social network and marketing experience to catapult into roles as a Marketing Manager for IDW and AEG. We talk about his journey, finding influencers, and tools of the trade. Q&A: Bryan Merlonghi

Source

]]>
/qa-bryan-merlonghi/feed/ 0
Q&A: John Wrot – Chasing the Elder Dice Gods /qa-john-wrot/ /qa-john-wrot/#respond Mon, 27 Nov 2017 15:00:05 +0000 https://www.leagueofgamemakers.com/?p=17731 John Wrot is founder/owner of Gate Keeper Games. He started, as many do, by launching a Kickstarter to make a board game, but soon found himeself deeper and deeper in the dark world of Dice Crafting. Before he knew it, he was chasing the Elder Dice Gods. We talk Kickstarter, Campaigns, and a rough experience at Essen. Q&A: John Wrot

Source

]]>
/qa-john-wrot/feed/ 0
Q&A: Kirk Dennison – Staying Scrappy /qa-kirk-dennison/ /qa-kirk-dennison/#respond Mon, 20 Nov 2017 15:00:52 +0000 https://www.leagueofgamemakers.com/?p=17701 Kirk Dennison is founder/owner of Piecekeeper Games. We discuss his indie journey with Flag Dash and the assortment of interesting projects he has taken on since then. Q&A: Kirk Dennison

Source

]]>
/qa-kirk-dennison/feed/ 0
Q&A: Bebo – From Pokémon to New Media /qa-bebo/ /qa-bebo/#respond Wed, 15 Nov 2017 15:00:55 +0000 https://www.leagueofgamemakers.com/?p=17703 Bebo found her love of games with Pokémon and then found her break into the industry helping out a different gaming conventions. Since then, she became the social media manager and Gamewire host for GTS Distribution. We talk about her journey, finding your 5 pillars and setting a great set for your channel. Q&A: Bebo

Source

]]>
/qa-bebo/feed/ 0
Kickstarter Spotlight: Side Effects – Progress Report /ks-sideeffects/ /ks-sideeffects/#respond Mon, 13 Nov 2017 15:00:11 +0000 https://www.leagueofgamemakers.com/?p=17717 In Kickstarter Spotlight: Progress Report I find kickstarter creators who are willing to talk about and dissect their projects 3-4 days after they have launched their campaign regardless – whether it is good news or bad. On Friday, I spoke with Jen Igartua 3.5 days after she launched her Side Effects campaign. We discuss how Pillbox games started, planning leading up to the campaign, current...

Source

]]>
/ks-sideeffects/feed/ 0
Q&A: William Burgos – Hecho en México /qa-william-burgos/ /qa-william-burgos/#respond Fri, 10 Nov 2017 15:00:59 +0000 https://www.leagueofgamemakers.com/?p=17695 William Burgos is found/owner of Aether Tower, one of the first successful board game Kickstarter publishers on Mexico. Since that success, they’ve started a movement for Mexico Friendly shipping and gaming cafés in Mexico City. We talk about his company and gaming in México. Q&A: William Burgos

Source

]]>
/qa-william-burgos/feed/ 0
Q&A: Ben Rosset – Project and Publisher Management /qa-ben-rosset/ /qa-ben-rosset/#respond Mon, 06 Nov 2017 15:00:53 +0000 https://www.leagueofgamemakers.com/?p=17625 Not only is Ben Rosset a designer of great games like Brew Crafters and Between Two Cities, he’s also a Sr. Project Manager for Panda Games Manufacturing. We talk design, advice for publishers, and latest Kickstarter / game industry trends. Q&A: Ben Rosset

Source

]]>
/qa-ben-rosset/feed/ 0
Game Artisans of Canada /game-artisans-of-canada/ /game-artisans-of-canada/#respond Fri, 03 Nov 2017 14:00:03 +0000 https://www.leagueofgamemakers.com/?p=17688 The Game Artisans of Canada is an incredible art and design organization based out of Canada. In this video I talk about the group, its structure, and many of the great design and art talent from the group. Game Artisans of Canada

Source

]]>
/game-artisans-of-canada/feed/ 0
Game Elements and Strange Rituals /game-elements-and-strange-rituals/ /game-elements-and-strange-rituals/#comments Thu, 02 Nov 2017 14:25:52 +0000 https://www.leagueofgamemakers.com/?p=17637 Sometimes, games emerge from a designer’s mind fully formed and wonderful. Maybe they have some tiny issues here or there, but small tweaks will fix those problems. The initial vision survives the playtest guantlet, coming out the other side largely unchanged. Most games, in my experience, aren’t so perfect when first conceived. Often times, games start as small fragments and build up.

Source

]]>
/game-elements-and-strange-rituals/feed/ 2
Q&A: Jason Kotarski – 20 Minutes of Filler /qa-jason-kotarski/ /qa-jason-kotarski/#respond Mon, 30 Oct 2017 14:00:51 +0000 https://www.leagueofgamemakers.com/?p=17682 Jason Kotarski is founder/owner if Green Couch Games and easily one of the coolest guys I’ve had on my Q&A. We talk small games, Kickstarter, and making indie publishing work on Kickstarter. Q&A: Jason Kotarski

Source

]]>
/qa-jason-kotarski/feed/ 0
My First Kickstarter as a Game Reviewer (Content Creator) /gwes4/ /gwes4/#respond Fri, 27 Oct 2017 14:00:32 +0000 https://www.leagueofgamemakers.com/?p=17676 Next week, I’m going to be attempting something totally new (for me). I’m going to have run a Kickstarter as a game reviewer for my Gaming with Edo Channel. This video walks through the thought process, options, and approach I’m taking on the campaign. I’ll do another video once the campaign completes. Gaming with Edo Kickstarter (Preview Page) My First Game Reviewer Kickstarter...

Source

]]>
/gwes4/feed/ 0
Finding Balance Before Playtesting /finding-balance-before-playtesting/ /finding-balance-before-playtesting/#comments Thu, 26 Oct 2017 14:33:38 +0000 https://www.leagueofgamemakers.com/?p=17591 How do you know the value of a card, or resource in a game you’re designing? I see this question pop up from time to time, and it’s a good one to ask. The designer is trying to figure out how to balance to their game. The most popular answer I see appear when this question is asked is, “playtesting”. This answer is incorrect. In fact, it points out a growing misconception of the function of...

Source

]]>
/finding-balance-before-playtesting/feed/ 18